When the matrimony cries for help

Sarmad Iqbal
2 min readMay 4, 2021
Source : https://womensenews.org/wp-content/uploads/Girl-with-Pearl-Earring.jpg

Matrimony is no longer holy but I’m not to be blamed

Is this life or a trap set by my lord on earth?

I cry in vain to him but he guffaws

The bed now feels like a thorny thicket

Yesteryear it was where the sacrament was fulfilled

Today it is where the same sacrament lies vulnerable

The matrimony lies there like a virgin deflowered against her consent

Like a virgin who still prays for the one who persecutes her

Like the faithful who forgives his enemy

And chooses resurrection as a complete rejection of self

Was I a fool that I laughed at all the veiled threats?

Yes, I was a fool that I drank myself into oblivion

But my earthly lord believes this oblivion is blessed

The oblivion is blessed but oblivious is maimed

The oblivious snivel and not sob inside the oblivion

Ah, mon Dieu!

The one you created in your image now does monstrosities

The one who came from your image deserts the matrimony

For whom you commanded me to leave public discourse

The one from whose image I came

I seek protection from him for my cherished bed of roses

The creator of monstrosities is no longer a living martyr to me

Where shall I seek my living martyr? Where?

Tell me! Where?

--

--

Sarmad Iqbal

Sarmad Iqbal is a Pakistani blogger, writer and columnist , writes for International Policy Digest, Al Jazeera Mubasher among others. Tweets @sarmadiqbal7